New county commissioners sworn in


Wednesday morning in Bay Minette, the Baldwin County Commission was sworn in for its new four-year term, complete with three brand new commissioners - Republicans Jeb Ball, Joe Davis and Billie Jo Underwood.

Commissioner Skip Gruber, who was sworn in as chairman, is the only returning member to the county’s deliberative body and said he looks forward to the four year term ahead of them.

“I’m looking forward to working with my new commissioners,” Gruber said. “I’m looking forward to this opportunity to help them and guide them as we move into our new challenges. There’s a lot of things that happen that we have to be the deciding factor on.”

Each of the new commissioners thanked the voters for putting them in office and said they were ready to get to work for the people of Baldwin County.

“This is an honor and a privilege,” Davis said. “We’re going to work better to handle the things we have coming in the future.”

Underwood was named vice chairman for the commission and will serve as chair during the Nov. 2019 - Nov. 2020 term. She will also serve as chair of the Finance committee.

“We’ve been working for months to learn what we have to do, but we have a lot more to learn,” Underwood said. “We appreciate your prayers as we move forward to make Baldwin County even better than it already is.”

Davis was named chair of the Economic Development committee and Ball was named chair of the Road and Bridge Committee.