Baldwin students compete in TSA competition

By John Underwood /
Posted 3/19/19

BAY MINETTE, Alabama — Middle and high school students enrolled in STEM Cluster Education programs from across Baldwin County converged on Coastal Alabama Community College on Tuesday, March 12 for …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Baldwin students compete in TSA competition


BAY MINETTE, Alabama — Middle and high school students enrolled in STEM Cluster Education programs from across Baldwin County converged on Coastal Alabama Community College on Tuesday, March 12 for the district Technology Student Association (TSA) competition.

Close to 180 students competed in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) competitions, including Flight Challenge, CO2 Dragster, Technology Bowl, Structural Challenge, Problem Solving, Leadership Strategies, Video Game, Digital Photography, Coding, System Control Technology and VEX Robotics.

The majority of the competitions were staged inside Jack Robertson Arena at the Seibert Gymnasium. Other competitions were held at the L.D. Owen Performing Arts Center and at the Fort on the CACC South main campus in Bay Minette. An awards ceremony followed the competition at the Performing Arts Center.

“The local competition has been a successful annual event for the past 10 years supported by Coastal Alabama College, local business and industry representatives serving as judges, and teachers who organize the events and prepare the students to compete,” said Tiffaney Plato, Career Technical Education Consultant for Baldwin County Schools, who acted as rules coordinator for the event. “We want to wish our TSA advisors and students the best of luck at the TSA State Conference – Baldwin Proud.”

Top finishers advance to the state competition, which will be held during the 2019 State TSA Leadership Conference April 23-24 at the Birmingham Jefferson Convention Complex. From there, competitors will advance to the National TSA Leadership Conference June 28-July 2 in Washington, D.C.

Top finishers in the March 12 competition included:

Middle School

Digital Photography: Jackson Zabala, Foley Middle School, first place; Madison Topp, FoMS, second; Kassey Merchant, FoMS, third.

Dragster: Blake Dobbs, Elberta Middle School, first place; Jeremiah Smith, Spanish Fort Middle, second; Alejandro Delasantos, SFMS, third.

Flight: Abby King, EMS, first place; Samantha Butler, EMS, second; Megan McCormick, EMS, third.

Leadership Strategies: Nathan Garner, Jayda Gregson, Dakota McKinney, Perdido School, first place; Clara Morris, Alexandra Kruse, Miya Maskell, SFMS, second; April Foster, Leighhann Vinson, Kendall Few, Perdido Team 2, third.

Tech Bowl: Orion Brown, Emilee Mixon, Angel Kyle, Bay Minette Middle, first place; Elanna, Sidney, Charlie, SFMS Team 3, second; Matt Bocher, Jackson De Le Garza, SFMS Team 1, third.

VEX Robotics IQ: Central Baldwin Middle Team 1 and Foley Middle, first place; CBMS Team 2 and Gulf Shores Middle Team 2, second; SFMS Team 1, third.

Video Game Design: Tucker Brown, Charlie Parker and Sherri Li, SFMS, first place; Clara Morris, Alexandra Kruse, Miya Huskell, SFMS, second; Luke Bornholt, Michael Williams, EMS, third.

Coding: Jayden Grayson and Zach Coleman, Perdido, first place; Paul Mercer and Tyler Swanson, SFMS, second.

Structural Engineering: Billy Jackson and Jacob Ziegler, Perdido, first place; Luke McIntyre and Dakota McKinley, Perdido, second; Bodie Stewart and Dane Biehl, SFMS, third.

Systems Control Technology: Tyler Parker DelaGarza and Chloe Barton, Elberta High Team 4, first place; Tanner Gravitt, Christian Higgins, Jose Gonzalez, FoMS, second; Chase Niblack and JT Smith, EMS Team 2, third.

Problem Solving: Eli Emmons and Marissa Greco, BMMS, first place; Edison Dao and Brynlee Freeman, FMS, second; Isaac Cardwell and Emma Lindley, GSMS, third.

High School

Problem Solving: Cody Plato and Kyle Kibby, Spanish Fort High, first place; Zach Pitcher and Josh Fields, Foley High, second; Matt Semmes and Jourdan Stanley, Fairhope High, third.

Flight: Pierce Swindle, FaHS, first place; Grant Johnson, SFHS, second.

Photography: Caroline Beech, SFHS, first place; Savannah Smith, FaHS, second.