Board denies parole for 14 violent felons


On Tue., Nov. 5, the Alabama Board of Pardons and Paroles denied parole for 14 violent offenders imprisoned for armed robbery.

Prior to the resumption of parole hearings, Bureau of Pardons and Paroles Director Charlie Graddick urged board members to use caution in considering parole during a news conference Mon., Nov. 4.

“Inmates do not have an innate right to be paroled, they must earn such a privilege,” Graddick said. “Our first priority must be the safety of every man, woman and child in Alabama.”

Of the 14 violent criminals up for parole, Richardo Eason of Foley was among those denied. Eason was sentenced to 20 years in prison during 2009 for first-degree armed robbery of a gas station clerk. He entered a Bebos gas station armed with a gun and demanded money from the clerk.

Also denied parole were Antonio Jackson for two first-degree robberies in St. Clair County, Steven Wade Hamilton for first-degree robbery in Shelby County, Akeem Benison for seven counts of first-degree armed robbery, Charleston George for first-degree robbery in Lee County, Alonzo John Goines for two counts of first-degree robbery in Russell County, Donte Lamar Harris for first-degree robbery in Elmore County, Antron Marquez Jackson for first-degree robbery in Pike County, Benjamin James Bradley of Covington County, Omar Wilik McQueen for first-degree robbery and theft of property in Montgomery County, James Leo Williams who was previously convicted of four armed robberies in Jefferson County before being paroled and returning to prison, Thomas Edward Howard for first-degree robbery in Lee County, Lonnie Painter for first-degree robbery and two counts of illegal possession/fraudulent use of a credit card in Jefferson County, and Jarius Israel Robinson for robbery in Henry County.

The parole board granted parole to William Cameron Cliatt, who was sentenced to 25 years in prison for the first-degree robbery of Crum’s Deli in Henry County.