McMillan, LeJeune win runoffs in mayoral races


SPANISH FORT – Voters in Daphne and Spanish Fort made their final selection for mayors in runoff elections Tuesday.

City Council President Robin LeJeune won the runoff for mayor in Daphne, defeating Steve Carey. LeJeune received 2,475 votes, or 63.25 percent, to 1,438 for Carey, 36.75 percent, according to complete, but unofficial results. LeJeune will replace incumbent Dane Haygood, who did not run for re-election.

In Spanish Fort, incumbent Mayor Mike McMillan defeated challenger Rebecca Cornelius. McMillan received 587 votes, or 58.1 percent, to 423 votes for Cornelius, 41.9 percent.

Also in Spanish Fort, Shane Perry defeated Wanda Finch for the District 3 seat now held by Bobby Fortenberry, who did not run for re-election.

Perry received 141 votes to 60 for Finch.

All officials who won the Oct. 6 runoff and Baldwin municipal candidates who won the general election on Aug. 25 will take office on Nov. 2.