State Engineering Hall of Fame Inducts 2019 Class

Tanya Fratto, of Foley, inducted


The state of Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame inducted eight individuals and honored an engineering project during a recent ceremony at the Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort and Spa.

These eight individuals joined the 184 inducted into the Hall of Fame over the past 31 years: Lowell Christy, of Birmingham; Stephen Cook, of Huntsville; Dorothy Davidson, of Huntsville; Tanya Fratto, of Foley; Carl Register, of San Antonio, Texas; Jonathan Sharpe, of Huntsville; Zeke Smith, of Trussville; and Norman Tew, of Madison.

Tanya Fratto, former president and CEO, Diamond Innovations Inc., was born in Ft. Benning, Georgia. She grew up in Alabama and attended the University of South Alabama. After graduating with an electrical engineering degree, she joined GE’s Manufacturing Management Program. Over the next 30-plus years, Fratto’s work assignments took her across the globe and lead to an officer position in GE, ownership of a company in private equity and a leadership role in a premier Swedish company. Her extensive experience in running companies, strategic planning, general management, sales, marketing and operations allow her to contribute to the successful oversight and governance of global organizations.

Also, I-22 (Corridor X) was inducted as an engineering project, joining 44 projects inducted into the Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame since 1987.

Founded by proclamation of the governor, the state of Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame honors, preserves and perpetuates the outstanding accomplishments and contributions of individuals, projects and corporations/institutions that brought and continue to bring significant recognition to the state.

The Hall of Fame is overseen by engineering colleges and schools at Auburn University, Alabama A&M University, The University of Alabama, Tuskegee University, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the University of Alabama in Huntsville and the University of South Alabama.

It is administratively managed through the UA College of Engineering. For more information, visit