First Baldwin teacher scholarship winners announced


BAY MINETTE – The first winners of a scholarship created to bring Baldwin County students back to the school system as teachers were announced recently.

The Baldwin Proud Future Teachers Scholarship was created to encourage Baldwin County high school graduates who want to become educators to return home after they finish college, Tiffany Wilson, Baldwin County Public School System human resources director, said.

“This is the first year that we have been able to offer this to our graduating seniors,” Wilson said at the May meeting of the Baldwin County Board of Education. “As an effort on behalf of Human Resources Department, we want to encourage our Baldwin County seniors who are interested in becoming educators to come back home after you finish your four-year degree so you can become part of our ‘Baldwin Proud’ family.”

Four winners were announced at the meeting. Human Resources directors said all four credited educators with inspiring them to go into teaching.

Abby Beech, a Spanish Fort High School graduate, was inspired to become a special education teacher after her work in Project Outreach, Eric West, assistant human resources director, said.

Lilly Glassford, a Robertsdale High graduate, told scholarship committee members that Jennifer Jones, a resource teacher and her basketball coach at Robertsdale High has inspired her to work as a special education teacher, West said.

Wyndal Mosely, an Elberta High School graduate, said that band director, Josh Conroy, is a major reason why he wants to pursue his career in music education with a vision to become a band director, Johnathan Crawford, assistant human resources director, said.

Fairhope High graduate Micalea Sharp was inspired by several family members who are also in education and she wants to come back and be an elementary teacher and work in a Title 1 school, Crawford said.

Money for the scholarships comes from donations, Wilson said.

John Wilson, chief school financial officer, received the Robert L. Morgan Award, which is given to one CSFO each year in Alabama for their dedication to their profession, to their community and their school district and for his work. Wilson donated the money from the award to the scholarship. Concept Construction and Scholastic also donated to the program, Wilson said.