Spanish Fort Election Results


SPANISH FORT -- Incumbent Mike McMillan and challenger Rebecca Cornelius will meet in a runoff for the position of Spanish Fort mayor on Oct 6  after neither received a majority of the vote Tuesday.

McMillan took 545 votes to 344 for Cornelius. Candidate Jeffery Batley received 257 and David Westerfield had 44.

In the City Council District 3 race, Shane Perry and Wanda Finch will also meet in a runoff for the seat now held by Bobby Fortenberry, who  is not running for re-election. The candidates finished in the top two positions in a three-way race ahead of Earby Markham.

In District 2, Carl Gustafson defeated Steve Gibson for the seat now held by Bill Menas, who did not run for re-election.

District 4 incumbent Clewis "J.R." Smith defeated challenger Mark Cauley.

Incumbents Curt Smith and Mary Brabner were unopposed in their bids for re-election.


Mike McMillan 545 *

Rebecca Cornelius 344 *

Jeffrey Batley 257

David Westerfield 44

City Council District 2

Carl Gustafson 187

Steve Gibson 88

City Council District 3

Shane Perry 106 *

Wanda Finch 76 *

Earby Markham 32

City Council District 4

JR Smith 169

Mark Cauley 130

*Runoff to be held Oct. 6